California – Gay Marriage – A Republican Changes His Mind

So, I have made many negative comments about the Republican party on this blog.  However, I must say that this press conference by the mayor of San Diego (a Republican) moves me.  He has changed his position regarding gay marriage, now stating that he supports gay marriage.  See the video below.  It is very emotional starting at 2:45 as it appears that his daughter being a lesbian has influenced his decision.  

Here is his money quote, “I could not bring myself to tell a group of people in our community that they were less important.”  I find this man all the more brave because when he ran for mayor he stated that he opposed gay marriage.  And here is the best part . . . he gets that passing Proposition 8 in California is simply enshrining discrimination.  So, you don’t think so?  See this video by Samuel L. Jackson that draws the parallel. 

So, I can’t say it enough – VOTE NO ON PROP 8 IN CALIFORNIA.  Oh – and tell a friend that you know in California to do the same. 

Leave a comment